STI 2011 magwell removal

Discussion in '1911 Gunsmithing' started by pcso13, Dec 11, 2018.

1. pcso13

pcso13 Happiness is a range in your backyard

Nov 25, 2018
    I would like to remove the magwell from my new STI 2011 tactical 4.0.

I've never done this before but I think I understand the concept. I believe I need to remove the magwell pin (which also acts as the mainspring housing pin) by tapping it out with a brass punch. With the slide off and the hammer down to remove the tension from the mainspring of course.

I would then replace the magwell pin with a regular mainspring housing pin, which should be a bit shorter. Looks like I can get one at Dawson Precision (they only seem to have SS and since my gun is a blackout I really would like to have black).

With the slide off and the hammer down, as long as I'm careful the mainspring housing should stay put and allow me to insert the mainspring housing pin.

As to the grip, i'm really not sure if that has to come off or can it stay on as is?

If I'm missing something or have something wrong in my description of how I believe it should work, please let me know. I feel like several/many people here have done this and I'd appreciate some guidance.

Thanks!

IMG_0442.jpg

2. Integrity Arms

Integrity Arms 1911 Pistol Smith

Mar 20, 2017
    Seems to me you got it all figured out just fine. I am sure someone would carry a carbon steel blacked out pin for the application you are describing. i am wondering if just a standard double stack mainspring housing pin would work.. Also if you could find the right size diameter pin or just a tad larger I almost bet you could make one by filing a groove in yourself or you could just buy the SS one and just touch up the ends with a black paint to match. From what I see I do not see a carbon steel offering for this. But, someone with some more experience with 2011 might know. Or maybe just reach out to STI.. And ask if it's even an option.

Last edited: Dec 11, 2018