The only way It could have been worse, if I had shot myself.

Discussion in 'Range Reports & Reviews' started by nikerret, Apr 26, 2019.

1. nikerret

nikerret Well-Known Member

Mar 2, 2019
    Read this, if your having a bad shooting day. Misery loves company.

Today, we only had 10-15 MPH wind and the temperature was incredible. I decided to take my three new to me firearms out shooting. It went terribly.

Some background on me: I’ve been a rural patrol cop since 2008. My first personal firearm purchase was a Gen3 Glock 23, when I was 18. At the first agency I worked at, I was issued a Sig P226R in .40 S&W with a tac light. When I moved to my current agency, I was issued a Gen3 Glock 22 with tac light. In early 2013, we were issued Gen4 Glock 22’s. I’ve been through a few “high speed” courses, in addition to regular training. Some of the better courses were a Basic SWAT Course and LE Sniper. At SWAT school, I was the third best shooter, out of 24 students. I got a 100% on my sniper qualification. I’m also the next to go to firearms instructor school.

I preface all that to boggle your mind when you see the targets. There is no excuse for what you are about to see. I only post it because it will make others feel better and I sure as hell would have showed off, had I performed well.

I took four guns: S&W 442, Gen2 G19, Ed Brown Custom Class A Commander, and a Springfield Professional LR.

Prior to today, I put 100 rounds through the Professional (bought used with around 2k estimated rounds, built 2009). Thee were a box of Freedom Munitions reman and a box of Sellier & Bellot. I used the mags that came with the firearm and had one ammo related failure. On one of the S&B, it failed to fire after the primer was struck. It was a solid hit, but I’ve had at least one of these out of most S&B Ammo boxes I’ve shot. It was cold and I was shivering, so I didn’t worry about accuracy (shooting steel).