Uncocking 1911’s

Discussion in 'Beginner's Corner' started by Chops, Dec 14, 2018.

1. Chops

Chops New Member

Nov 28, 2018
    I’ve noticed this on my full size Ruger SR 1911 and other Ruger 1911’s. I can uncock by simply pulling the hammer back and pulling the trigger slowly letting hammer move forward. On my Springfield I have to use grip safety with the above method. I prefer the Springfield sequence much better. Yes I’m new to the 1911 platform and trying to educate myself.

2. NPV

NPV Well-Known Member

Nov 15, 2017
    The best way to de-cock a 1911 is to disengage the safety, take a good grip, point it in a safe direction, and press the trigger. Also the most fun way.

3. Don_P

Don_P Well-Known Member Supporting Addict

Dec 4, 2018
    Are you lowering the hammer on a live round? I never found a real need to uncock it or lower the hammer on a live round without wanting it to go off. If it's empty I just dry fire it.

4. BigDeeeeeeee

BigDeeeeeeee Idaho 1911er

Aug 19, 2011
    Your Ruger shouldn't let the hammer fall without engaging the grip safety either.

5. EvolutionArmory

EvolutionArmory Well-Known Member

Sep 9, 2011
    No 1911 should allow the trigger to be pressed far enough to let the hammer drop without holding the grip safety. That’s the whole point of the safety....

If one of yours does, it’s defective.

Also, you should learn more about the safe operation of the gun. I can see no reason why you would ever have to manually lower the hammer.

6. ZoidMeister

ZoidMeister Consider my signature line before replying . . . .

Dec 4, 2014
    I need to check my SR1911's to see if they exhibit the same behavior. Scary . . .

azpoolguy and BenchMonkey like this.
  7. tylerishonda

tylerishonda Member

Aug 19, 2018