1911 Firearm Addicts banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Folks. Wanted to post a quick review on a transaction I just completed with Mr John at Harrison Design. First in summary it was awesome. What a great guy to deal with and a great smith! I have a 2017 Valor that I purchased used. Gun was in great shape, spotless, and very low round count. However, the front sight was all but gone to my older eyes. The lamps were fine, but the white outline was shot. I tried to refill it a few times but didn’t last and still couldn’t see it very well. It had also worked loose in its dovetail for whatever reason. Warranty was not an option with Dan Wesson, and honestly I just wanted/needed to go a different route. I also knew that Dan Wesson could have changed out the sights but having heard so many good things about John, I decided to check with him. Although I’m a retired SWAT officer who used 3 dot Glocks for the better part of two decades, for the last 5 years I’ve exclusively run 1911’s. After speaking with John we decided to go with the HD massive yellow/green dot front, and his 170 size U notch rear. I could not be happier. It’s a fast sight, can see it better than anything I’ve ever experienced before, and the workmanship was outstanding. Very happy customer for sure. Thanks John! Pics to follow.

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The prices may differ depending what gun and what particular sight you want, so probably best to check that out on the website or let John give you the quote, but the turn around was considerably fast I thought. Also let me add that I only sent my slide to him. He insured it and packaged it extremely secure and padded. Very professional.

·
Registered
4,932 Posts
I’ve purchased parts from him. They are excellent. I absolutely love his triggers, with the set screw on the back of the trigger. I have a 14 or 15 valor, the sites are starting to go dead. I will keep this in mind.