What sort of springs for a 9mm Commander?

Discussion in 'Beginner's Corner' started by 45dotACP, Nov 21, 2016.

Tags:
  1. 45dotACP

45dotACP Active Member

Nov 13, 2016
    I have a new Colt Combat Commander in 9mm, but I also suspect I'll wear out the springs before too long and I have absolutely no clue as to what spring setup I'll need for mainspring and recoil spring. Any thoughts from you guys? It's stupid fun to shoot.

2. Bender

Bender Supporting Addict Supporting Addict

Aug 15, 2011

3. july19

july19 Womb? Weary? He rests. He has travelled. Supporting Addict

Sep 16, 2013
    My GI uses an 11 or a twelve.

4. Karsten

Karsten Well-Known Member

Feb 19, 2013
    Call Wilson Combat and get what they say.....I just ordered springs for my S&W pro series Officer Size and they knew what was needed.

Karsten

5. EvolutionArmory

EvolutionArmory Well-Known Member

Sep 9, 2011
    A 12 pound recoil spring and a 19 pound mainspring. If you run 124 or 147gr rounds regularly, a 14 pound spring might be better but you might find that 115gr 9mm might cycle slower with weaker ejection with a 14 pound spring. I find that many factory 9mm guns are over sprung. I'll usually start with a 12 pound spring for a Commander and a 10 pound spring for a full size and adjust up or down if needed.

605atthe wheels, cfl4rat and Kip like this.
  6. dakota1911

dakota1911 Well-Known Member

Feb 19, 2015
    I think you can get Colt springs through Brownells or Midway but the Wolff Gun Springs link above is great and I have found Wolff spring to work well.

7. ForesterPumice

ForesterPumice Not a Gunsmith, but learning more everyday.

Sep 23, 2016
    Slide weight and smoothNess must play a part, only explanation I can think of for no standard spring weight.

I

8. rod442

rod442 Well-Known Member

Mar 4, 2014
    My DW Guardian 9mm runs the best with a 13# spring. 12 and 14 and it sometimes doesn't lock the slide back on an empty magazine. This is with 124-147gr ball ammo.

9. EXFI