What to look for when buying a used Colt

Discussion in 'Beginner's Corner' started by 1955colt, Dec 5, 2018.

1. 1955colt

1955colt New Member

Dec 5, 2018
    My first post here and I am new to the 1911 world and had the chance to pickup a well used Colt 1911 and I know very little about them. I found a nasty looking Commander at a pawn shop and did a SN# lookup. It looks to be a 1955 model. SN# 354xx-LW. It has a three hole trigger which I think is not original. Lots of color gone on the alloy frame and some surface rust on the outside of the barrel. It seems to function OK, I want a shooter and not a safe queen. After 60 years who knows what has been changed or worn out.

It is a little late to ask, but what should I have looked for when buying this used Colt? The price was $450 out the door.[​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

2. leadfarmer

leadfarmer Active Member

Jun 13, 2018
    No professional here but it looks like you made out well for 450 bucks. If your having buyers remorse I'll be glad to take it off your hands. You dont get much Colt for that price.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

simonp likes this.

3. ZoidMeister

ZoidMeister Consider my signature line before replying . . . .

Dec 4, 2014
    Well the price tag certainly passed muster . . . . . .

And correct, that is not an original trigger. To know more, you will have to take it down and photograph the small parts and pieces . . . . . especially the barrel.

4. dogman

dogman Well-Known Member

Apr 8, 2017
    For that money I would have bought it, unless the frame was cracked. Mine was a 1978 and in about the same condition. Had the frame prepped by a pro and then coated with Ionbond, new sights from Novak, new trigger, springs, MSH, etc. carry it regularly. IMG_3323.JPG

simonp, Mike Meints, FWoo45 and 4 others like this.
  5. 1955colt

1955colt New Member

Dec 5, 2018