Which is the best double stack 1911 to buy?

Discussion in 'General 1911 talk' started by Alexy, Oct 17, 2018.

1. Alexy

Alexy Well-Known Member

Oct 30, 2016
    Hello everyone, I'm looking to potentially get a 1911 (45ACP) that can accept double stack mags. Does anybody have a good idea as to which is my best bet?

I'm looking for just a simple 1911, nothing fancy or tactical. And I'm pretty thrifty, so I'm not looking to spend a fortune.

Also, are the double stack mags for a 45acp 1911 all new standard spec/size? Or will each gun have its own special mag type?

Thank you for any suggestions. This is my first time looking at double stack 1911s!

2. Joe C

Joe C Custom Pistolsmith Sponsor

Sep 11, 2011
    Personally, I'd skip a double stack in .45 Auto. I've worked on plenty of them over the years and the 9mm or .38super is much more suited for the double stack platform.

cundiff5535, LPRoad, BBP and 2 others like this.

3. gun_fan111

gun_fan111 Well-Known Member

Mar 23, 2014
    ChuckC likes this.
  4. grayghostforge

grayghostforge Hit it while its hot

May 17, 2017
    Given your parameters... Para

If I was shopping on a budget......M&P 2.0 in 45acp. Right around $450 new & mags are easy to find/affordable.

5. tarosean

tarosean Well-Known Member

Apr 7, 2013
    Best bet and thrifty are not interchangeable terms.:(

You basically have two different choices.
    SVI/STI who invented and rule the 2011 (Double stack 1911) realm.
    Or versions of the Para Ord. All your lower cost options will be variations of its design. Remington, RIA, etc. etc.

Mags between the two main designs will not interchange. Nor will some other small parts. i.e. magazine releases. Other parts are purely "1911" and will require the same fitment as any other 1911.

6. Greg45acp

Greg45acp Double Secret Banned Supporting Addict

Oct 31, 2016
    As someone who owned a Para-Ordnance P-14.45 I'd say you should buy an HK 45 or an M&P 45.

45caldude and Joe C like this.
  7. Descartian