Why are there front cocking serrations on so many 1911s?

Discussion in 'Beginner's Corner' started by Blue Ridge, Feb 7, 2012.

1. Blue Ridge

Blue Ridge Well-Known Member

Nov 3, 2011
    I put this in beginner's corner, b/c it's the ultimate "noob" question. I've been shooting for 20 years, but while 1911 window shopping, I got to thinking about how prevalent front serrations are. Surely they wouldn't still be so frequently seen if they are 100% window dressing. But I never grab a slide up there, unless maybe breaking down the gun, or similar time that a textured grip wouldn't serve much purpose. Is there a reason -or a method of racking the slide I'm unfamiliar with? I tend to keep my hands away from that end during operation.

2. FullCaliber

FullCaliber New Member

Oct 12, 2011
    I've been told it's for press-checks, to see if a round is in the chamber.

3. 50GI-Jess

50GI-Jess Member

Aug 24, 2011
    It's really one of them things invented for no reason ! OK yes, it is a little easier to use front cocking serrations when racking the slide, due to more leverage and change of pivot point.
    On the other hand, if the user have normal strength and know how to the proper technique, firm grip, not staging the slide movement, and utilizing the "pull/push" trick, then front serrations are just more or less a fashion thing.

4. deadguy

deadguy Charlie Daniels Supporting Addict

Sep 7, 2011
    I find press-check cuts mo' bettah for press-checking than FCS.

5. too_pure

too_pure Employed

Nov 9, 2011
    I don't much like the way they look, but I think many do. There was a thread on TOS where the majority liked them by a pretty big margin. My first 1911 had them and I got used to using them for clearing the chamber, the round would drop into my hand. Now that I don't have them I just let the round drop on my bed, a table, whatever.

But yea. I wish they weren't on almost everything.