Wilson Combat Classic for Bullseye?

Discussion in 'Competition 1911's' started by PilotPhill, Apr 9, 2019.

1. PilotPhill

PilotPhill New Member

Jun 9, 2018
    Hi All,
    I am very new to this sport of Bullseye pistol shooting.
    What do you think? Is a Wilson Combat Classic with a 3.5lbs trigger pull a good Pistol for this sport or should I start thinking about something else? Will I/it be able to hang with the the competitive bullseye shooter using this pistol?
    I’ve been reading on The Encyclopedia of Bullseye shooting website and have been learning a lot lately. Very excited to get into this sport.

2. DD_USMC

DD_USMC Well-Known Member

May 23, 2014
    I never saw a Wilson built pistol (or one with a WC barrel) on the firing line in Bullseye competition. Some pistols might have been built with a few WC made parts, but no complete pistols. The keys to 50 yard mechanical accuracy is attained with slide to frame fit, barrel bushing fit, barrel fit, and the actual accuracy of the barrel. It's a waste of time to have perfect fit on all parts, but the barrel itself can not hold a group. I used a barrel tester for my builds to sort out barrels by Hardball, Wadcutter, or combat (25 yards max). Overall, Karts were the best, followed by USGI Match (Marked IMI), Bar-sto, or Clark (not in specific order). Tried a few Briley barrels and returned them all because their best group was approximately 4" @ 50-yards with a barrel tester using match 185gr ammo. I only had to return 2 Karts (out of 100 or so) that didn't shoot really good at 50 yards. Fred exchanged them without a hassle and I would currently use a Kart over any other barrel maker.

Get a pistol built by a reputable bullseye smith and ask for a Kart barrel....buy once- cry once...until you need a another barrel fit.

Mike Meints and Boatbum101 like this.

3. Oldgunner

Oldgunner Well-Known Member

Mar 30, 2018