1911 Firearm Addicts banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
225 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Bill Wilson built my Wilson #120 Competition Combat Pistol on a new Series 70 Colt Government Model in February of 1981. This was pre Wilson Combat, prior to all the named pistols. To the basic #120 package, I had him add Bo-Mar adjustable sights and Metaloy the frame. I used this pistol at Second Chance and literally fired thousands of rounds through the #120 before retiring it. Since it was my first custom pistol, for which I paid the princely sum of $777.95 (a fortune for a young police officer), I decided that I would never sell it. When I quit shooting competitively, I cleaned the Wilson and put it in the safe, where it sat for decades.

For old times' sake, in 2021, I started shooting the same #120 that Wilson built me 40 years prior. The pistol that had once served me well started experiencing failure to feed and stove pipe problems. I called Wilson Combat and spoke to Ken Villines, a true gentleman and professional who is Wilson's firearms service manager. I explained the functioning problem with the Wilson, and Ken said he would be e-mailing me a UPS label to return the gun to Berryville for repair. I received the label and returned the Wilson to the mother ship on September 28, 2021.

Two weeks later, I received an e-mail that my pistol was coming back repaired from Wilson Combat. I received the pistol today. The enclosed invoice read, "Replaced sear, reworked trigger, increased barrel throat, adjusted extractor tension and functioned without issue. Service Policy Repair-NO CHARGE"

Servicing a pre Wilson Combat pistol nearly 41 years after it was built, and paying shipping both ways, is absolutely phenomenal. To say Bill Wilson stands behind his product with a service repair policy that is second to none is an understatement. Bill Wilson, Ken Villines and the entire crew at Wilson Combat are simply OUTSTANDING! Bravo, Gentlemen! You have no equal.

·