Yet another Newbie intro

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by OlympicFox, Dec 17, 2011.

1. OlympicFox

OlympicFox Active Member

Dec 15, 2011
    I'm a newbie to the 1911addicts forum. I've been on other forums and when I recently ran into a problem with a gun shop/manufacturer, I tired to discuss my problem and get some help, but the mods locked the thread. Sheesh, I wasn't even bitch'n. Just explaining the problem. :frusty:

Well, two of the guys on that forum suggested I come over here, so here I am! :thumb:

Like many others, I learned to shoot courtesy of Uncle Sam in 1966. Much to my surprise, I seemed to fit in the military, so I stuck around in the reserves for 26+ years - Army National Guard for ~7 & Coast Guard for 20. My Coastie job involved law enforcement, so I maintained weapons quals in the 1911, M16 & shotgun. Between being a lot younger and very simple COF's, making Expert in those days wasn't much of a challenge. I retired shortly after the switch to the Beretta. Funny how back then I thought it was positively crazy carrying the Beretta with a round in the chamber! :rofl2:

I bought the wife her first gun early this year and in the process of getting her involved, I got bit with the IDPA bug. Which led to owning something other than just Sig's for home defense and Kahr's for carry. I love the P226's but they just aren't very competitive. Naturally, that meant a 1911 for CDP - Springfield Trophy Match. So far, the SA is stock but that's going to change soon as I want to do a bobtail job on it.

I've only just started doing my own work on my own guns. For example, I've been working on my wife's Sig P6 to reduce the DA trigger pull, install a short trigger, etc. My next project is to bobtail my SA. Followed by action work on the S&W 686.

More recently, I added a Dan Wesson CCO to my carry gun collection.